Can we determine Kosher by reading ingredients?
The Kosher Industry in the past: It used to be back in the 50’s people could tell if an item was Kosher based on a look at the ingredients label on the package.
Not so nowadays. As you can see from the adjacent image, the list of ingredients are numerous and obscure. Besides the fact that most manufacturers add many ingredients to enhance shelf life, color, or even natural flavorings, these seemingly innocent items are actually not kosher. Gelatin for instance comes from cow bones. Although cow is Kosher, it has to be a Kosher slaughtered cow that one could melt the hooves for Kosher gelatin.
Other such “precarious” items are glycerin or monoglycerides which could also be derived from animals.
These and many other items all need to be carefully reviewed at to their source if its Kosher or not.
Besides all this companies are also not required to list all of their ingredients. if there is a small amount, (I think i heard under 2%), they are not required to list it. Hence all ingredients need to be examined in order to have a Kosher certification).